Skip to content

A N Groves Chronology


As part of my ‘Brethren History’ project I’ve been looking at the life of A N Groves.


A N Groves

I’ll be publishing an article about Groves on this blog soon.  I’m working on it right now.  However, in preparation for that article and a potential lecture, I’ve been trying to get a clear chronology of Groves’ life.  Here’s my initial draft in PDF Format…

A N Groves Chronology

Here’s my first reading notes:


And here’s my bibliography so far:-

Adams, N. 1972, ‘Goodbye, Beloved Brethren’ Impulse Books, Aberdeen.
Burnham, J.D. 2004, ‘A Story of Conflict’ Paternoster, Milton Keynes.
Coad, F.R. 1968, ‘A History of the Brethren Movement’ Paternoster, Exeter.
Dann, R.B. 2004, ‘Father of Faith Missions’ Authentic Paternoster, Waynesborough.
Groves A.N. 1825 ‘Christian Devotedness’ Nisbet, London.
Groves, F. 1869, ‘Memoir of Anthony Norris Groves’ Nisbet, London.
Ironside, H.A. 2016 ‘A Historical Sketch of the Brethren Movement’ Solid Books.
Neatby, W.B. 1901, ‘A History of the Plymouth Brethren’ Hodder & Stoughton, London
Pickering, H.Y. 2nd Ed. ‘Chief Men Among the Brethren’ P&I, London and Glasgow.
Wilson, B.R. (Ed.) 1968 ‘Patterns of Sectarianism’ Heinemann, London.


From → History, The Brethren

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: